Teacher Awards

The BHP Foundation Science and Engineering Teacher Awards recognise outstanding contributions made by classroom teachers to science education.

Teacher finalists are selected from around Australia. Each Science Teachers Association is invited to nominate one teacher, chosen for their excellence in teaching, their support of open-ended student investigations and their suitability to represent their state or territory. The CSIRO CREST program may also nominate a teacher, selected on the same criteria. If you would like to nominate a teacher, contact your local State or Territory Science Teacher Association for further information. 

Teacher finalists are invited to attend a Teacher Best Practice Seminar and the prestigious Awards ceremony event in Melbourne in February. The winning teacher will be invited to attend Intel International Science and Engineering Fair in the United States of America to assist as a chaperone for the Australian student finalist delegates.


2019 National Winner -Allan Alipio, CAPS Coolgardie


Allan Alipio is a Science Coordinator at CAPS Coolgardie. He has a Bachelor of Science in Secondary Education and is currently studying his Master of Arts in Science Education. Allan has been teaching for 16 years and before coming to Australia, he taught science in the Philippines, the Bahamas, China, Japan, and USA. Across his entire teaching career has been involved in Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (Intel ISEF) as a coach and a judge. Allan has organised school wide science fair programs and had students compete in national and international competitions, including Western Australia’s only student finalists in the 2018 BHP Foundation Science and Engineering Awards. In 2017 and 2018, CAPS Coolgardie was named as the STAWA Secondary School of the year.

Award partners